ISO MeQualifications guide · UK

Information security · Internal auditor

ISO/IEC 27001 Internal auditor

Teaches you to plan, carry out, report and follow up internal (first-party) audits of your own organisation’s management system. Usually two days, assessed by continuous assessment and a short test.

Standard
ISO/IEC 27001:2022 — Information security
Level
Internal auditor
UK courses listed
7 from 7 providers

1 About this qualification

This is a internal auditor course applied to ISO/IEC 27001, the standard for information security.

Requirements for an information security management system: assessing information security risks, treating them with appropriate controls, and keeping the system effective. Annex A lists 93 reference controls in four themes.

2 UK courses

Course names, certification, duration and delivery as stated by each provider. We do not list prices — they change often; see the provider’s page.

Course (as named by the provider) Provider Certified by Duration Link
Internal Auditor Training Course - ISO 27001:2022Classroom; Live online; In-house BSI Not stated 2 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
ISO 27001:2022 Internal Auditor LRQA Not stated See provider Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
CQI and IRCA ISO 27001 Internal Auditor Training (A2574)Virtual – tutor led NQA CQI and IRCA certified 2 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
IRCA-CQI Information Security Management Systems (ISMS - ISO 27001:2022) Internal Auditor DNV CQI and IRCA certified 16 hours Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
ISO 27001 Internal Auditor Training Course Bywater CQI and IRCA certified 2 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
ISO/IEC 27001:2022 Internal Auditor Course — CQI|IRCA ref PT220 Batalas CQI and IRCA certified 2 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
ISO 27001 Internal Auditor Training Course (2 days) Amtivo (British Assessment Bureau) Not stated 2 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026

Certified by: CQI and IRCA certified (4) · Not stated (3). What the schemes mean.

3 How it is assessed

SchemeTypical lengthAssessment
CQI and IRCAApprox. 14 hours (two days); DNV lists 16 hoursContinuous assessment plus a short test — for example, Batalas describes a short multiple-choice test on the final day
Provider-branded courses1–2 daysOften continuous assessment; some issue a CPD certificate

PECB does not run a separate internal auditor course — its auditor route is the five-day Lead Auditor course.

4 How to prepare

Practice questions

5 Other ISO/IEC 27001 qualifications