ISO MeQualifications guide · UK

Occupational health and safety · Lead auditor

ISO 45001 Lead auditor

The full auditor course: how to plan, lead and report first-, second- and third-party audits of a complete management system. Usually 4–5 days (about 40 hours) with continuous assessment and an exam. The qualification most auditor job adverts ask for.

Standard
ISO 45001:2018 — Occupational health and safety
Level
Lead auditor
UK courses listed
6 from 6 providers

1 About this qualification

This is a lead auditor course applied to ISO 45001, the standard for occupational health and safety.

Requirements for an occupational health and safety management system to prevent work-related injury and ill health and provide safe and healthy workplaces. A revision is under way at draft (DIS) stage.

2 UK courses

Course names, certification, duration and delivery as stated by each provider. We do not list prices — they change often; see the provider’s page.

Course (as named by the provider) Provider Certified by Duration Link
Lead Auditor Training Course - ISO 45001:2018Classroom; Live online; In-house BSI BSI certified course (as stated by BSI) 4 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
ISO 45001 Auditor/Lead Auditor - CQI & IRCA CertifiedClassroom; Virtual classroom; Blended; In-house LRQA CQI and IRCA certified 5 days (classroom and virtual); blended option Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
CQI and IRCA ISO 45001 Lead Auditor Training (A2236)Virtual – tutor led NQA CQI and IRCA certified 5 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
IRCA-CQI Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems (ISO 45001:2018) Lead Auditor DNV CQI and IRCA certified 40 hours Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
ISO 45001 Lead Auditor Training Course Bywater CQI and IRCA certified 5 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026
ISO 45001 Lead Auditor Training Course – Classroom Based (5 Days)Classroom Amtivo (British Assessment Bureau) Not stated 5 days Course pagechecked 3 October 2026

Certified by: CQI and IRCA certified (4) · BSI certified course (as stated by BSI) (1) · Not stated (1). What the schemes mean.

3 How it is assessed

SchemeTypical lengthAssessment
CQI and IRCAApprox. 40 hours — usually 5 days (some providers run 4 longer classroom days)Continuous assessment plus an exam. CQI and IRCA’s course table describes a 2-hour written examination; some providers now use an online multiple-choice exam after the course (Batalas: 1 hour 45 minutes, within 30 days)
PECB5 days, exam on day 5PECB exam — the ISO/IEC 27001 Lead Auditor handbook describes 80 multiple-choice questions, open book, 70% pass mark
IBITGQ (GRC Solutions, ISO 27001 only)5 daysCIS LA exam; qualification valid for three years
Provider-certified (e.g. BSI for some standards)4–5 daysWritten exam and skills assessment, as stated by the provider

4 How to prepare

Practice questions

5 Other ISO 45001 qualifications